top of page
Call for Nominations
Knowledge Management South Africa (KMSA) Awards for Excellence
KMSA IMBIZO August 2024

We are thrilled to announce the launch of nominations for the prestigious KMSA Awards for Excellence for the following categories:


KMSA Chairpersons Award

  • Chairperson's Award – recognising outstanding contributions to the field of Knowledge Management. This distinguished award is divided into two sub-categories:

    • Individual

    • Organisation

Criteria for Nomination

The seeks to honour exceptional knowledge management (KM) professionals who have demonstrated remarkable achievements and profound impact within the KM profession. Nominees in this category should have a proven track record of years of practice in KM, providing traceable and measurable evidence of their work in the field. They should showcase significant contributions and support for Knowledge Management, illustrating the impact they have made in the KM field. Moreover, nominees should exemplify leadership qualities by influencing change or spearheading new directions to benefit the profession. This can be demonstrated through examples of excellence, vision, growth resoluteness, resilience, determination as well as innovative initiatives that have enhanced the profession. Nominees should also showcase active participation in KM programs, involvement in the professionalisation, study and standardisation of knowledge management practices as well as their dedication to championing KMSA's vision, goals, and programs.


In the, we aim to honour entities that have made outstanding contributions to the field of Knowledge Management as a whole. Nominees should demonstrate a deep commitment to fostering a culture of knowledge sharing, innovation, and collaboration within their organisation and industries. The organisation should have implemented effective KM initiatives that have had a significant positive impact. Additionally, nominees should showcase their active participation in KM programs, their support for the professionalisation and standardisation of KM practices, and their efforts in enabling, supporting, and encouraging cooperation and partnerships that benefit the field of Knowledge Management.


KMSA Champion Award: Public Voting category


The KMSA is thrilled to announce the introduction of a new and dynamic award category: the KMSA Champion Award. This accolade is designed to recognise and celebrate the exceptional contributions of our members who support the work of KMSA. It is a special recognition that honours individuals who have demonstrated unwavering commitment to the association's values and goals. This award acknowledges members who not only support the KMSA's initiatives but also actively participate in its various activities, thereby contributing significantly to the advancement of the community.


To be eligible for the KMSA Champion Award, nominees must meet the following criteria:

  • Good Standing: The nominee must be a current member of the KMSA in good standing. This includes being paid up adherence to the association's rules and regulations and maintaining an active membership status.

  • Advocacy: The nominee should have a proven track record of advocating for the KMSA's endeavours and referrals for memberships. This includes promoting the association's mission, vision, and activities within the broader community.

  • Active Participation: The nominee must actively participate in KMSA activities. This includes attending events, contributing to discussions, volunteering for committees and conference activities, presenting at webinars i.e. speakers, and engaging with other members in meaningful ways.

  • Collaborative Project with KMSA – initiated and supported collaborative projects with KMSA e.g. KM Knowledge Week initiatives and driven sponsorship opportunities for KMSA.

  • Social Media Butterfly: The nominee is active on the association’s social media platforms through posting, resharing and creating awareness on KMSA events and initiatives.


KMSA Champion Award Public Voting

Criteria for Nomination


In an exciting twist, the will feature a public voting component. This allows the entire KMSA community to take part in selecting the champion among the shortlisted nominees. Here's how the process will unfold:


  • Nominations: Members of the KMSA can nominate an individual they believe exemplify the qualities of a KMSA Champion.

  • Shortlisting: The evaluation committee will review the nominations and shortlist candidates based on the award criteria.


Public Voting: The shortlisted candidates will be presented to the entire KMSA community before the 2024 Imbizo, who will then cast their votes for the nominee they feel most deserving of the accolade. Please note that each member is allowed only one vote.


Award Ceremony: The nominee with the highest number of votes will be declared the KMSA Champion and will be honoured at the KMSA Imbizo.


We believe that the KMSA Champion Award will not only shine a spotlight on the outstanding efforts of our members but also encourage a culture of active participation and advocacy that will propel the KMSA to new heights.


We invite you to nominate deserving individuals and organisations who have made exceptional strides in the field of Knowledge Management. Help us celebrate their achievements and recognise their significant contributions by submitting your nominations today!


Please note that all nominations should be accompanied by detailed evidence and examples that substantiate the nominee's qualifications in accordance with the criteria outlined. Together, let us acknowledge and honour those who have dedicated themselves to advancing Knowledge Management and its impact on our professional community.


Nominations will close on the 19th of July 2024. To nominate your preferred KMSA Champion, please use the link below.

Don't miss this opportunity to recognise the best in the field of Knowledge Management!


For any additional information, please contact


Nominations closed on the 19th of July 2024

bottom of page